Tag Archives: New Orleans

Customer Review: The Dolls

9780062281487The Dolls

Kiki Sullivan

Balzer & Bray

$9.99

Available now

The Dolls by Kiki Sullivan is a perfect match for fans of Mean Girls and Sabrina, the Teenage Witch. If you’re looking for a book with magic, drama, mystery, romance, and with a setting in New Orleans this is the book for you. Its about Eveny who moves back to the mysterious town of Carrefour years later after her mother supposedly killed herself. When she starts to attend her new school she meets the Dolls — two girls named Peregine Marceau and Chloe St. Pierre — who are the queens of the school and also the queens of magic in Carrefour. After several mysterious events Eveny discovers that her life and everything that she believes is a lie, so she turns to the Dolls for help. It’s up to Chloe, Peregine and Eveny to save Carrefour, set things right and to solve the murderers.

~ Emily, age 14

Advertisements
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere

9781452124568Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere 

Julie T. Lamana

Chronicle Books

$16.99

Available now

Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere by Julie T. Lamana is such a bittersweet and phenomenal book. It takes place in New Orleans where everything Armani Curtis knows and loves gets taken away from her by Hurricane Katrina. Armani thinks that her tenth birthday means that everything would change, she would be older, more responsible, even wiser. She would be that, although it wouldn’t be the way she’d like it. Armani has to be brave and courageous and sacrifice a lot to save her family. While she has to do all this, Armani watches what she has loved and known all be washed away including her family, her house, and her life. I highly recommend this amazing book!

~Samantha, age 11

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Advertisements