Tag Archives: mystery

Staff Review: The Forgetting

 

ForgettingThe Forgetting

Sharon Cameron

Scholastic

$18.99

Available September 13, 2016

Every twelve years, the city of Canaan falls into the Forgetting, a day where everyone’s memories vanish. The only way to remember events from before the Forgetting or even clues to who you are as an individual is by keeping detailed entries in your personal book. Your book is your identity, but the truth can easily be twisted or misrepresented and no one truly knows exactly what has happened. Except for Nadia. She has never forgotten. She remembers exactly what has happened. She knows who’s telling the truth and who isn’t. Nadia’s memories allow her to investigate how the city of Canaan came to be. Because she remembers her past, she is less afraid than her neighbors and ventures over the stone wall that is supposedly protecting the city. When Gray catches her coming back over the wall, he threatens to expose her secrets unless she helps him. With the next Forgetting approaching, Nadia and Gray must figure out what is destroying Canaan. Or this time everyone will forget what the truth really is.

Advertisements
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Staff Review: With Malice

WithMaliceWith Malice
Eileen Cook
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
$17.99
Available now

Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital bed not remembering anything for the past 6 weeks. She doesn’t remember the once in a lifetime trip to Italy she just took with her best friend. The trip which was supposed to be fun and exciting, that instead turns into a deadly car accident. Jill is told that her friend Simone was killed during the accident, but now questions are being raised about whether the accident was intentional. As Jill slowly regains her memory, she tries to piece together bits of information that will explain what really happened to Simone and what led up to the accident. Is Jill responsible for Simone’s death, or is she being framed? With Malice is a great summer read for anyone who loves mysteries.

~ Lana

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Curiosity House, The Shrunken Head

ShrunkenHeadCuriosity House: The Shrunken Head

Lauren Oliver and H.C. Chester

HarperCollins

$16.99

Available now

Curiosity House, The Shrunken Head by Lauren Oliver and H.C. Chester is an exciting book, set in the 1930s in New York. When a fourth child joins the group of orphans with extraordinary abilities living in Dumfrey’s Dime Museum of Freaks, Oddities, and Wonders, murders begin happening, and people think it’s linked to the shrunken head, the newest addition to the museum’s collection. When the head is stolen, Max, Pippa, Thomas, and Sam will do all the can to solve the Curse of the Shrunken Head. One of the best parts about the book is the characters, so different from each other, and anybody I have ever met. This is the best book I have ever read!

~ Sadie, grade 5

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Staff Review: Blood and Salt

blood and saltBlood and Salt

Kim Liggett

G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Available: Now

$17.99

On reading the very first page of Blood and Salt by Kim Liggett, I was instantly hooked. I really appreciate Liggett’s rich detail and how she describes every part down to the smallest detail which created strong imagery. As I read, I could picture everything happening including Ash’s gruesome vision of the dead girl hanging upside down on the kitchen table, ropes digging into her ankles, a trace of blood running from her cut across her hand. Ash’s visions are as evocative as watching a horror movie.

This suspenseful page turner centers around 17 year old Ash, daughter of Nina Larkin, a woman who escaped the harsh, spiritual commune of Quivira Kansas 17 years ago to raise her children in New York, away from the Mayhem that existed back home in Kansas.

Ash is a girl who could possibly be a conduit, someone who sees into the past and a has visions of their ancestors including the gruesome rituals that they conducted. When her mother’s final protection spell fades, she finds herself even more plagued with visions of her ancestor named Katia. If that isn’t enough to handle, Ash is haunted by visions of a dead girl. A girl she is tied to because of her gift. A girl that has been with Ash ever since she could remember. A girl that may be Katia, but looks just like Ash. With just six precious days left and the clock ticking, Ash and her brother Rhys set out to go to Quivira, Kansas to save their mother from doing the unthinkable on the night of the summer solstice.

Ash and Rhys want to save their mother Nina, but as their journey becomes more and more harrowing, Ash realizes it isn’t just her mother that needs saving but also herself. This book is perfect for the young adult looking for the ultimate fantasy suspenseful thriller.

~ Eryn, 16

Tagged , , , , ,

Customer Review: The Dolls

9780062281487The Dolls

Kiki Sullivan

Balzer & Bray

$9.99

Available now

The Dolls by Kiki Sullivan is a perfect match for fans of Mean Girls and Sabrina, the Teenage Witch. If you’re looking for a book with magic, drama, mystery, romance, and with a setting in New Orleans this is the book for you. Its about Eveny who moves back to the mysterious town of Carrefour years later after her mother supposedly killed herself. When she starts to attend her new school she meets the Dolls — two girls named Peregine Marceau and Chloe St. Pierre — who are the queens of the school and also the queens of magic in Carrefour. After several mysterious events Eveny discovers that her life and everything that she believes is a lie, so she turns to the Dolls for help. It’s up to Chloe, Peregine and Eveny to save Carrefour, set things right and to solve the murderers.

~ Emily, age 14

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Balance Keepers The Fires of Calderon

9780062275189Balance Keepers #1 Fires of Calderon

Lindsay Cummings

Katherine Tegen Books

$16.99

Available now

I love this book and hope that the author makes another one like it because it was great. My favorite part was when Aldert dove into the water, and his stone was not the same as everyone else’s stone. They were trying to find out why his stone was different than everyone else’s stone. I hope there are many more books like this to come!

~ Mitchel, age 10

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Disappearance at Hangman’s Bluff

9780062104496Disappearance At Hangman’s Bluff

J. E. Thompson

Walden Pond Press

$16.99

Available now

Abbey Force and Bee Force are best friends, yet they’re totally different. While Bee is a focused school girl and is never in trouble, Abbey loves adventure and is always getting herself and Bee into trouble. Usually Bee has to get them out of it. When the girls are watching the mayor’s dog Yemasee, bad men hit the dog with a car and take off with her. Abbey and Bee are furious and going to get Yemasee back at any cost. In the meantime, a man named Mr. LaBell, who was already sued by Abbey’s dad, is up to no good. He’s digging a giant hole where a slave graveyard used to be. Abbey and Bee will go through a lot to save Yemasee and the graveyard. They risk a lot and gain a lot of courage. I highly recommend this book.

by Samantha, age 11

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: The Luck Uglies

9780062271501

The Luck Uglies

Paul Durham

HarperCollins

$16.99

Available now

The Luck Uglies is a 10 out of 10, a five star rating. This book is awesome! It is about a girl whose dad is the high chieftain in a criminal organization. Her village, Drowning, is under attack by ferocious beasts called bog noblins. I think this book is great and would recommend this book to anyone who likes action and mystery.

~Jack, age 10

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Catch You Later, Traitor

9781616203597

Catch you Later, Traitor

Avi

Algonquin for Young Readers

$16.95

Available in March 2015

The book Catch You Later Traitor by Avi is about the Red Scare in 1959. A boy named Pete Collison is a 12 year old who loves Sam Spade. But, when an FBI agent comes to Pete’s house accusing his dad of being a communist, Pete finds himself in a real life mystery. My favorite part of the story is when Pete and his dad go to see his uncle who later dies. My favorite character in the story is either Pete or his dad. I liked the book because I love reading stuff around the World War II time period.

Spencer, age 10

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Absolutely Truly

9781442429727

Absolutely Truly

Heather Vogel Frederick

Simon & Schuster

$16.99

Available now

Absolutely Truly by Heather Vogel Frederick was phenomenal. My favorite part about it is the funny characters, especially Truly Lovejoy. At almost six feet tall she definitely stands out. When her father loses an arm in the war, her family decides to move to Pumpkin Falls, New Hampshire to take over the family bookstore. One day at the bookstore she finds a mysterious letter in an old copy of Charlotte’s Web. With her new friends she follows clues around town. Will Truly solve the mystery before it’s too late? Find out in the new novel by Heather Vogel Frederick , who visited Morse Pond School.

~ Emma, age 10

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,