Tag Archives: magic

Morse Pond Review: Pennyroyal Academy

9780142427149Pennyroyal Academy

M. A. Larson

Puffin Books

$8.99

Available now

 

Pennyroyal Academy by M.A Larson is an incredible book about a girl who doesn’t know anything about herself, not even her own name. She goes to Pennyroyal Academy to become a princess and fight the two main dangers; dragons and witches. Along the way she starts to get her memory back and learns many things about her life and what it means to be a princess. I definitely recommend this book. It is a definite 5 out of 5 stars.

~ Teagan, age 12

 

Advertisements
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Wizardmatch

9780735227781Wizardmatch

Lauren Magaziner

Dial for Young Readers

$16.99

Available March 2018

 

Wizardmatch is a very good book about a girl in a magical family. In each magical family there is a prime wizard who has most of the magic. Everyone else only has a tiny bit of magic. When the prime wizard gets old, he holds a Wizardmatch to decide who will be the next prime wizard. Lennie notices that all the prime wizards have been men. When her brother is chosen to compete instead of her, she has to work hard to make things fair. If you read The One And Only Ivan you will surely like this book. I loved it.

~ Lucia, age 10

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: A Crack in the Sea

crackintheseaA Crack in the Sea

H.M. Bouwman

Penguin Young Readers

$ 16.99

Available January 2017

A Crack in the Sea is an amazing book about two different worlds. In it, there are three different stories. One is about Kinchen and Pip. Pip has the power to talk to fish. There is also Venus and Swimmer trying to escape a slave ship. And, finally there is Sang, Mai, and Thanh trying to escape their country. On the way, they travel to different worlds. Some people have magical abilities. This book is an amazing story!                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      ~ Kylie, age 10 ,5th grade

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: The Silver Gate

silver-gateThe Silver Gate
Kristin Bailey
Harper Collins Publishers
$16.99
January 17, 2017

The Silver Gate is an amazing story of a brother and sister who face many challenges but get through them. In the story, Elric has to protect his sister, Wynn, because people think she is a changeling. Wynn really wants to find the silver gate where the fairy queen is. This book is full of magic and love. Even though they fight sometimes and get mad at each other, these siblings still love each other. Through all the hard times, they help each other through all the challenges. If you like magic and family I highly suggest this to you. I really enjoyed this book.

~Kylie, age 10, grade 5

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Customer Review: A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic

TaleofHighlyUnusualMagicA Tale of Highly Unusual Magic

Lisa Papademetriou

$16.99

HarperCollins

Available October 6, 2015

In the book A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic, by Lisa Papademetriou, two unsuspecting girls both find a copy of a strange book that seems to write and continue its own story day after day. It can only mean one thing. Magic! The two girls, Kai and Leila, both on vacation, follow the story, while also facing unusual events themselves. The thing is, neither girl knows that the other one has a copy of the book! Between Kai’s adventures, like searching for a supposedly extinct moth with her friend Doodle, and Leila’s journeys, like tending to a sick goat she accidentally bought, this book is a must read!  It takes some turns that you are not at all suspecting!  A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic is thrilling, and great for those that like adventure, and a little bit of mystery and magic, too!  It is great for any age, and it is fantastic!

~ Olivia, age 12

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Customer Review: Stray

9780062274557Stray

Elissa Sussman

Greenwillow Books

$17.99

Available now

“I am grateful for the Path, which keeps me pure, ever after,” is the mantra that Aislynn focuses on everyday at Nerine Academy where she trains to be the perfect princess and wife. But Aislynn can’t control her magic and dreams of straying the path and becoming evil. She is then sent to become a fairy godmother, while taking care of the future queen. Aislynn hears secrets of rebellion and learns of a sinister plot that puts her in danger. This book is filled with twists and turns, decisions made and their consequences, and Aislynn’s struggle with following the Path.

~ Emily, age 14

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Customer Review: The Dolls

9780062281487The Dolls

Kiki Sullivan

Balzer & Bray

$9.99

Available now

The Dolls by Kiki Sullivan is a perfect match for fans of Mean Girls and Sabrina, the Teenage Witch. If you’re looking for a book with magic, drama, mystery, romance, and with a setting in New Orleans this is the book for you. Its about Eveny who moves back to the mysterious town of Carrefour years later after her mother supposedly killed herself. When she starts to attend her new school she meets the Dolls — two girls named Peregine Marceau and Chloe St. Pierre — who are the queens of the school and also the queens of magic in Carrefour. After several mysterious events Eveny discovers that her life and everything that she believes is a lie, so she turns to the Dolls for help. It’s up to Chloe, Peregine and Eveny to save Carrefour, set things right and to solve the murderers.

~ Emily, age 14

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Balance Keepers The Fires of Calderon

9780062275189Balance Keepers #1 Fires of Calderon

Lindsay Cummings

Katherine Tegen Books

$16.99

Available now

I love this book and hope that the author makes another one like it because it was great. My favorite part was when Aldert dove into the water, and his stone was not the same as everyone else’s stone. They were trying to find out why his stone was different than everyone else’s stone. I hope there are many more books like this to come!

~ Mitchel, age 10

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: The Lost Children of the Far Islands

9780375870910The Lost Children of the Far Islands

Emily Raabe

Knopf Books for Young Readers

$16.99

Available now

I really enjoyed The Lost Children of the Far Islands by Emily Raabe because it had a lot of adventure. The setting and the plot are very interesting. Part of the book is on a island in Maine. It is a very mysterious place. Anyone who goes to the island doesn’t come back. This story is about twins Gus and Leo and their little sister, Ila, who are living a peaceful life in Maine until their mother mysteriously gets very ill. As her strength fades the children realize that she is protecting them from a terrible evil. Soon they are sent out to an island with a grandmother they never knew about. They find out that they are folk — creatures that can turn from human from to animal form and back. They go on an adventure to try to stop an ancient and powerful monster, the King of Black Lakes who is trying to take over the world. The Lost Children of the Far Islands is a story filled with magic, excitement and adventure. It is a very good book and I really recommend it. I hope you like the book!

~ Sophia, age 10

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: The Map to Everywhere

9780316240772The Map to Everywhere

Carrie Ryan and John Parke Davis

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

$17

Available now

The Map to Everywhere by Carrie Ryan and John Parke Davis is a fast paced adventure with more than a splash of humor. Everything about this book is interesting from the people you meet and places you go. Throughout this whole book there is never a dull moment. The story is about an adventure loving girl named Maril who is brought to the pirate steam by a magic piece of paper (there is a lot of magic in this book) where she meets up with a wizard, a sailor, a lizard man, and a thief that is forgotten by everyone except for her. If you love fantasy adventure this book is for you. It gets 5 out five stars from me.

Kevin, age 11

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,