Monthly Archives: September 2015

Staff Review: Blood and Salt

blood and saltBlood and Salt

Kim Liggett

G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Available: Now

$17.99

On reading the very first page of Blood and Salt by Kim Liggett, I was instantly hooked. I really appreciate Liggett’s rich detail and how she describes every part down to the smallest detail which created strong imagery. As I read, I could picture everything happening including Ash’s gruesome vision of the dead girl hanging upside down on the kitchen table, ropes digging into her ankles, a trace of blood running from her cut across her hand. Ash’s visions are as evocative as watching a horror movie.

This suspenseful page turner centers around 17 year old Ash, daughter of Nina Larkin, a woman who escaped the harsh, spiritual commune of Quivira Kansas 17 years ago to raise her children in New York, away from the Mayhem that existed back home in Kansas.

Ash is a girl who could possibly be a conduit, someone who sees into the past and a has visions of their ancestors including the gruesome rituals that they conducted. When her mother’s final protection spell fades, she finds herself even more plagued with visions of her ancestor named Katia. If that isn’t enough to handle, Ash is haunted by visions of a dead girl. A girl she is tied to because of her gift. A girl that has been with Ash ever since she could remember. A girl that may be Katia, but looks just like Ash. With just six precious days left and the clock ticking, Ash and her brother Rhys set out to go to Quivira, Kansas to save their mother from doing the unthinkable on the night of the summer solstice.

Ash and Rhys want to save their mother Nina, but as their journey becomes more and more harrowing, Ash realizes it isn’t just her mother that needs saving but also herself. This book is perfect for the young adult looking for the ultimate fantasy suspenseful thriller.

~ Eryn, 16

Tagged , , , , ,

Customer Review: George

GeorgeGeorge

Alex Gino

Scholastic

$16.99

Available now

Author Alex Gino hits it out of the park with George! As Middle School readers enter into the “tween years”, they are likely to relate to the array of emerging self identity emotions. However, as the reader, we are granted privileged access to George and how her desire to be known for her true self is not easy to share. We cheer for George as she executes a master plan to play Charlotte in the class play as a way, she believes, will allow everyone to see her as herself. In George, Gino brings George’s experience what it is like for her to be a transgender child into a conversational and relatable place for young people. I highly recommend it to anyone who works with young people. George will be an asset to the middle school learning experience on many levels.

Carol DiFalco, LMHC

Licensed Mental Health Counselor

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Customer review: The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

accident seasonThe Accident Season

Moïra Fowley-Doyle

Kathy Dawson Books,

$17.99

Available now

Accidents Happen.  Our bones shatter, our skin splits, our hearts break.  We burn, we drown we stay alive.

In The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle, every October Cara and her family are accident-prone.  With the disappearance of a former friend and a sudden attraction to her ex-stepbrother, this accident season will be one of the bad ones. This book is a great, quick read and I recommend this book to a reader who loves a good mystery.

~ Emily, 17

Tagged ,

Customer review: The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

dead houseThe Dead House

Dawn Kurtagich

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers,

$18.00

Available: September 15th, 2015

I really enjoyed this book. It was an interesting and unusual mix of psychological thriller and dark fantasy, and it was more than suspenseful enough to keep me reading. The format, which consisted of captioned video footage, newspaper clippings, and excerpts from the main character’s diary, was cleverly done in that it told the whole story without the need for much added explanation. Though pretty open-ended, the conclusion answered the story’s important questions in a way that made sense; something a lot of thrillers struggle to do. I would recommend this book for kids age 14 and up, as there is violence and some sexual themes.

Jason ~18

Tagged , , , ,

Customer Review: A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

a thousand nights A Thousand Nights

Emily Kate Johnston

Disney-Hyperion

$18.99

Available: October 6th, 2015

A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston transports readers to Arabian deserts, where readers can feel the burning sand under their feet and the hot sun beating on their backs.  A nameless girl saves her sister from being taken by Lo-Melkhiin, who has married three hundred women and has killed them. The girl instead sacrifices herself to be taken. Fans of Arabian Nights will fly through this book.

~ Emily, 17

Tagged , , , ,

Customer review: Damage Done by Amanda Panitch

damage doneDamage Done

Amanda Panitch

Random House Books for Young Readers

$17.99

Available now

Damage Done by Amanda Panitch is one of the best mystery thrillers I have read of the YA variety.  Julia Vann had the perfect life, then the shooting happened. The next moment she is a new person, lives in a new town, and doesn’t have a brother. You have to read the book to find out what really happened in the band room, where it all started.  Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, and anyone who loves a good plot twist.

Emily ~ 17

Tagged , , , , ,

Staff review: To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

TKAMTo Kill A Mockingbird

Harper Lee

HarperCollins Publishers

$16.99

Available Now

The novel To Kill A Mockingbird, written by Harper Lee, is a classic because the values and morals displayed through out this novel will never grow old. Translated into more than forty languages, this novel transcends the American canon. To Kill a Mockingbird takes place in Maycomb County, in southern Alabama, and is told from the innocent eyes of six-year-old Scout Finch, a tomboy/rebel, who is the daughter of Atticus Finch, an open minded lawyer with good values and morals. Atticus agrees to represent Tom Robinson, a black man accused of rape. In To Kill a Mockingbird, Atticus isn’t one to judge man by his skin color and race but rather focuses on the content of their character and who they are as a person.

To Kill a Mockingbird teaches the reader this important lesson: that you shouldn’t judge others based on appearances or what you’ve heard “until you consider things from his point of view […] until you climb into his skin and walk around in it.” For example, Scout has encounters with many people who defy stereotypes such as Boo Radley. The story also circles around the important moral that everyone is created equal and that, as Atticus states, “whenever a white man does that to a black man, no matter who he is, how rich he is, or how fine a family he comes from, that white man is trash.” Atticus’s comment implies that character outweighs skin color.

In my freshman year of High School, I read To Kill A Mockingbird for English class. I didn’t think much of it back then nor did I try to put it into context, analyze it, or to try and figure out what it really meant, because I wasn’t into it. Now rereading the novel almost two years later, I gained a lot more knowledge from the nuances of the story and insight into the morals that infuse the novel. I also gained insight into individual characters. I related more to Atticus in my second reading and I value the lessons he teaches Scout about not judging people. Re-reading increased my understanding of why To Kill a Mockingbird is regarded as an American classic.

Eryn~16

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Customer Review: Walk on Earth a Stranger

WalkonEarthaStrangerWalk on Earth a Stranger

Rae Carson

Greenwillow Books

$17.99

Available September 22, 2015

Besides the beautiful cover a wonderful story follows surrounding the gold rush in America.  Leah Westfall possesses a special power, she can sense the presence of gold. The day both her parents are murdered she bravely runs from her wicked uncle and sets off to find her best friend Jefferson and accompany him to California to find gold. In the beginning of her journey she decides to pretend to be a boy, so she won’t be found by her evil uncle. Will she ever find her friend Jefferson? Will she be found by her uncle and be used for her sense of gold? You will have to read to find out! ~ Emily, 17

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,