Staff Review: Fans of the Impossible Life

9780062331755

Fans of the Impossible Life     

Kate Scelsa

Balzer & Bray/Harperteen

$17.99

Available: September 8th, 2015

Kate Scelsa’s Fans of the Impossible Life features the trials and tribulations of three misfit high school friends that form an unbreakable bond and become fans of the impossible fantasy filled life. I think of high school in this way: in every school you have different types of clans of students, such as the Preps, the rebels, the sporty people, the popular ones, and the not so visible shy, standoffish, wallflower ones like Jeremy, to whom I can relate. Then you have the people like Mira a.k.a Miranda, the uniquely different ones. The ones that aren’t afraid of standing out and wearing what they want to wear, and being who they truly are, the ones that struggle with reality. The ones that try to fill the empty problem filled gaps with material items. Finally, you have the rebels – or clanless ones – like Sebby a.k.a Sebastian, who don’t even attempt to go to school or have any kind of succession in life, and sort of just wander and do their own thing. The ones that come from chaotic households, feeling as though they don’t have a place.

The more I leaned about each character, and the more puzzle pieces I could fit together about who each of these characters were individually and their story, the more I found myself relating to Mira, Sebby and Jeremy. I could not put the book down and wanted to follow these characters and jump into their world and see what it was all about and experience it, I wanted to know where their stories would lead them.  I can, and I bet many other readers can appreciate the realism of the book and how Mire, Sebby and Jeremy are just typical everyday people living the day to life, somehow surviving and carrying on despite each of their internal/ external problems. Most readers will be able to relate to this book, and possibly form connections with these characters like I have, which I think is very important to the reader’s liking and understanding of the book.

Could I see this book possibly becoming a movie in the near future? Absolutely! I would probably see it the day it premiered. I would recommend this book to practically anyone, but I really do think this book’s target audience is the typical teenager/ young adult living the typical life, going through problems, but who really just want an outlet. I can guarantee that many young adults and teenagers have some form of degree of the problems that Mira, Sebby, and Jeremy do within the mythical character world. Mira, Sebby, and Jeremy prove that you can survive whatever it is you are going through and you will get through it.  I can really appreciate the way Scelsa gives each character an individual voice. It’s almost like one on one time between the character and the reader. Getting to know the character and form connections. I also love how Scelsa gradually starts revealing more and more clues and tiny pieces that you can fit together.  The slow reveal keeps the reader interested, in tune within the book, and wondering “What else am I going to learn about Mira, Sebby or Jeremy, What crazy things will they do next?  What’s going to happen next to them?”

The more I read The Fans of the Impossible Life, the more I found myself wishing these characters were actually human beings so I could befriend them and call them up anytime I wanted. which is what every book should be able to do. If anyone I came across asked me whether The Fans of the Impossible Life is a good book and whether they should read it, I would say absolutely, “Yes, you should” because this book is the perfect example of realism; it is raw and real and directly addresses the issue between people struggling between reality and wanting to live the impossible life. Fans of the Impossible Life should definitely be at the top of anyone’s TBR list.

~ Eryn,16

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

