Staff Review: Toddler Rules

9780345542380

Jo Frost

Toddler Rules

Ballentine Books

$16.00

Available now

My daughter Lola recently turned one year old, and with that milestone came another: walking. Now considered a “toddler,” her increased mobility has made her more independent, more assertive, and more likely to protest when she doesn’t get her way. So when I saw Jo Frost’s Toddler Rules arrive at the store, I immediately added it to my TBR pile.

You may know Frost as TV’s Supernanny, a professional nanny who has worked with parents experiencing disciplinary challenges with their children. While I consider Lola to be a great kid, I recognize that the transition from infant to toddler will inevitably bring behavioral changes, and I want to do whatever I can to make this time as smooth as possible for everyone.

I came away from Toddler Rules feeling in control. I think providing parents – especially first-timers like myself – with a sense of confidence is so important, and Frost achieved that with me. She offers step-by-step instructions on how to assist your child in 5 areas of development – sleep, eating, social interactions, learning, and behavior – and offers tips for what to do when things go awry (and things will go awry).

Frost is a supporter of routine, rules, and boundaries, but she emphasizes that “discipline” should not be mistaken for “punishment,” and that having some sort of order in place during the day need not mean a lack of creativity and spontaneity. Rather, she suggests that providing children with structure allows them a greater sense of safety, because they know what’s coming next and can prepare for it, thereby lessening the likelihood of meltdowns.

I would recommend Jo Frost’s Toddler Rules to any parent or care-giver of a toddler, and I also think it could be a useful resource for babysitters.

~ Tasha

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

