Morse Pond Book Club

Book ClubIn a previous post, I mentioned that the Morse Pond Book Clubs were up and running again. Eight Cousins is delighted (I need another word that conveys total jubilation) to be partnering with the clubs again this year. For the past few weeks, I (Sara) have been running around like a mad squirrel trying to gather as many middle-grade ARCs as possible. You know how people are about boxes when they’re moving? That was me at a recent publishing exhibition. “You have middle-grade ARCs at this booth? I’ll take 20.”* Eight CousinsPublishers have obliged my rampant foraging and have even sent boxes of fantastic ARCs for the two clubs (thank you!)

So what about the kids? Well every time I drop off a new set, I hear more and more fantastic stories from Mrs. Abbott. One kid didn’t bring his book back because he read it so fast that his father had to borrow it to see what all the fuss was about. The hilarious part is that he only ‘confessed’ this fact later. The librarian and the bookseller are still trying to decide why he thought he might get in trouble for loaning out a book! Another kid is new at the school this year. Since the kids sometimes read the same book, the club is giving him something to talk about with his classmates. Mrs. Abbott put together an amazing presentation to explain the program to parents and other teachers. Her slides and photos are included here. I’m so jealous of everything she does with the groups when I’m not around, but fortunately the kids do occasionally come into the store and want even more books. 1) Thanks so much for introducing yourselves! 2) Seriously?!? I just dropped off like 30 ARCs at your school! It’s amazing to see first hand that you really do love reading that much. For the record, we do, too. Mrs. Abbott and I try to maintain a certain level of professionalism, but when two book lovers get together the conversations quickly become something like, well like two book lovers talking about books: Have you read Mr. Lemoncello’s Library yet?!? OMG!** Yes! I loved it! But Wonder is really taking hold here! Everyone in the school is really excited about it! You have to read Rooftoppers, it’s my new favorite book! Did you see how excited the kids got about Prisoner 88?!? I know! I totally want to read it now!

Reviewing

Some of the reviews have been posted here already and a flood more just arrived, so look for those over the next couple of weeks.The next time I meet with the kids, we’ll talk more about the reviewing process. My ideal is that throughout the year we can arrange for some special guests — like editors, publicists, designers, and umm, maybe some authors and illustrators — to talk to the two clubs. Anyone interested!?! Not yet? Well look at the photos below and then decide : )

Trying to decide . . .

Trying to decide . . .

Selecting ARCs

Selecting ARCs

Reading at its finest!

Reading at its finest!

Small group reading!

Small group reading!

Reviewers in training.

Reviewers in training.

* I swear I never took more than 2 of each.

** Neither Mrs. Abbott nor Sara actually uttered, “OMG!”, but they might as well have.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

