Monthly Archives: October 2013

Morse Pond Review: Clueless McGee Gets Famous

9780399257513_3a72a

Clueless McGee Gets Famous

Jeff Mack

Philomel Books

$12.95

Available January 2014

Clueless McGee Gets Famous by Jeff Mack is a ridiculous book. If you like comedy mixed with a little mystery, this is the book for you. Clueless can’t find his hat! The one that was autographed by famous singer Junior McFiddle! All this leads up to lots of action and comedy. If you liked Big Nate and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, you will love this book.

~ Cole, 10

Advertisements
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: The Nethergrim

9780399159985

The Nethergrim

Matthew Jobin

Philomel Books

$17.99

Available April 2014

The Nethergrim, by Matthew Jobin, is an action-packed thriller that is full of excitement and wonder. If you love books filled with magic and fantasy, this book is definitely for you. Race through a world filled with both good and evil, but beware of the beasts that prowl in the darkness at night. Watch as Tom, Katherine, and Edmund find their way through the forest and to the Nethergrim’s lair. With their whole town’s lives hanging in the balance, will they ever be able to defeat something so powerful? Find out in The Nethergrim.

~ Isabel, age 11

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Sammy Feral’s Diaries of Weird

9781623650322Sammy Feral’s Diaries of Weird

Eleanor Hawken and illustrated by John Kelly

Quercus

$15.95

Available March 2014

Sammy is a very interesting boy with a lot of problems. Up until now, he thought that werewolves, phoenixes and fire-breathing turtles didn’t exist. Now that his family has turned into werewolves, he will do anything to turn them back. This is an awesome book with twists and turns everywhere. I would recommend it to anybody.

~ Gunnar, 10

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Rooftoppers

9781442490581Rooftoppers

Katherine Rundell and illustrated by Terry Fan

Simon & Schuster

$16.99

Available now

 

This heartwarming story is about a girl who lost her mom on a sinking ship when she was one. Sophie was found in a cello case floating in the English Channel. Ever since Charles — a loving scholar and fellow passenger — rescued her, Sophie has wanted more than anything to find her mom. When the orphanage threatens to take Sophie away, she and Charles flee to Paris. This book has a lot to connect to, such as Sophie plays the cello, she loves to read, and she loves to climb.

~ Ava, age 11

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Prisoner 88

9781580895606Prisoner 88

Leah Pileggi

Charlesbridge Publishing

$16.96

Available now

This book is great. It is about a young boy named Jake. He shot a man named Mr. Bennet. He was sent to a prison named Idaho Penitentiary. He has some friends named Mr. Nance, Mr. Shin, the warden and others. He makes his way through the prison getting used to it. He was there for five years and gets very good food. This is a story I’m sure everyone will love. So if you like action and suspense, this is the book for you. The author, Leah Pileggi, is a fantastic writer.

~ Monroe, age 10

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: The Nethergrim

9780399159985

The Nethergrim

Matthew Jobin

Philomel Books

$17.99

Available April 2014

The Nethergrim by Matthew Jobin is a good fantasy book with characters I could relate to. I felt it ended too quickly. I hope the author will write a sequel. For fans of Lord Of The Rings, Percy Jackson, and any fantasy fan this book is a must.

~ Alex, age 11

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1) Bring in two titles 2) Bring friends

This past summer we started a book club for kids ages 8-12, entitled Eight Wonders. We’ve tried a few different types of meetings. Twice we invited authors to visit and speak with the club members.  For one meeting we tried reading the same book, but that didn’t work out too well (no one read it but me). Usually the club members each select an ARC (Advance Reading Copy) and report on it at the meetings. It’s a great way for the kids to find out about a handful of new books and hear recommendations from their peers. Sometimes the kids love a book so much that it gets passed around, each new person confirming that the book is indeed that amazing (re: Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library). The kids are always enthusiastic; sometimes their enthusiasm is so overwhelming that they cannot stop talking about books long enough to let someone else talk about a book. Sometimes they have to run around in circles, leaping like gazelles. That really happened when I announced that Linda Urban would be doing an event at the store. Fortunately we meet outside in the summer.

Now it’s the school year and people are busy, but we still have a core group of reading enthusiasts who come to the meetings on Saturday afternoons. They’ve decided that they all want to read the same book. I’m hoping it will work better this time (meaning I hope someone else besides me reads the book). They’ve all been instructed to bring in two book titles to nominate and we’ll vote at the November meeting. They also think that there should be a few more members, so one of them entreated everyone to bring someone to the next meeting. Personally, I kind of like it when the group is small, but who am I to temper their enthusiasm? Finally, they really really really want Rick Riordan to come to a club meeting. I’m still trying to figure out how to break the news on that one.

After all the kids had been picked up at the end of the October meeting, I found this note on the floor.

BookClubNote

I love this book club.

If you want to see what the Eight Wonders Club recommends, see our Pinterest board. Anyone interested in receiving information about the club can sign up on our website.

Customer Review: Serafina’s Promise

9780545535649

Serafina’s Promise

Ann E. Burg

Scholastic, $16.99

Available now

Serafina’s Promise is about a girl who lives in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. All she wants is to go to school to become a doctor with her best friend, Julie Marie. But she also has an oath to her family to work and help them. When a flood reaches her little village she believes all is lost, including her dreams, family, and friends. This beautiful story, told in verse, expresses love, passion, and following your dreams.

~ Ainsley, age 11

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Prisoner 88

9781580895606Prisoner 88

Leah Pileggi

Charlesbridge Publishing

$16.95

Available now

I loved the book Prisoner 88 by Leah Pileggi. I loved how much action was in the book. Right when I thought I knew what was going to happen next, the story took an unsuspecting turn. James Oliver Evans, the main character, is thrown in jail with hardened criminals at age the of ten. He is convicted of manslaughter and sentenced to five years in the Idaho Territorial Penitentiary. He finds a home in a place that most people want to get out of. I would recommend this book to people who love books with action in them and a little mystery.

~ Cole, age 11

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Magic Marks the Spot

9780062194343

The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1: Magic Marks the Spot

Caroline Carlson

HarperCollins

Available now

 

I loved the book Magic Marks the Spot by Caroline Carlson. If I could, I would stay up all night reading it. The book is about pirates, but if you like fiction, you will love this book too. When Hillary, the main character, finds out that she is going to Mrs. Pimm’s school for Delicate Ladies finishing school, she is ever more determined that she will become a pirate, not a High Society lady. When she finally becomes a pirate, she goes on a marvelous journey through the High Seas to find treasure. I would recommend this book to kids ages 8 – 12.

~ Ryan, 10

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,