Screen Free Weekend

By accident, I almost made it all the way through (Personal Time) Screen Free Week. It turns out that staying screen free over the weekend was easier than anticipated, because it was incredibly busy. I’ve also noticed an unexpected benefit, which is that I seem to have slept better. *I think* that not looking at a screen for about 5-6 hours before I went to bed allowed a more solid night’s sleep and I’ve been waking up a few hours earlier each day. Overall, this experiment had pluses and minuses. I enjoyed spending more time outside and making plans with local friends and I felt a little disconnected from the friends and family who don’t live in the area. It was nice to put work away in the evenings, but I stressed constantly about not finishing all my projects. Regardless, I slept better, which means I had more time in the morning to work. I read several books (list below) and I didn’t watch any television until Sunday. After a few long days at the store, when I arrived home last night, all I wanted to do was watch a few episodes. I’ve also enjoyed the therapeutic juxtaposition of blogging about Screen Free Week. I’d say something cliché about all things in moderation, but, without these Screen Free Week restrictions, it will be interesting to observe how quickly technology habits resume. Is it necessary to go completely screen free or is it possible to simply and conscientiously restrict usage? Is technology a choice or a crutch?

Thanks to the reps over at Random House for inspiring this experiment! Did anyone else participate in Screen Free Week? Thoughts? Comments? Self-analytic confessionals?

Screen Free Week Books:

The Miseducation of Cameron Post, by Emily Danforth

The Laura Line, by Chrystal Allen

Gingersnap, by Patricia Reilly Giff

True Colors, by Natalie Kinsey-Warnock

The Scorpio Races, by Maggie Stiefvatter

Tagged

Leave a Reply

