Digital Poetry Contest Short List Winners

At the end of the Digital Poetry Contest, we selected 5 poems for the short list and sent them off to YA author Lisa Schroeder. After much deliberation, she has selected the final winner, with the comment “this was hard”. The winning poem will be published on our website tomorrow. Today, however, we wanted to feature the four short list poems. Congratulations to everyone. We were most impressed with your writing!

a
a

untitled

at night
in my bed
when the lights are turned off,
i stare up at my ceiling
and suddenly my hands are above my head,
creating a picture that only i can see
on the separating me and the night.
some nights it’s just criss-crosses,
multicolored polka-dots,
anything that pops,
other nights i try to recreate Starry Night
only the blue sky is changed
it’s now the new york city skyline.

at night
in my bed
i lay my head against the pillow
and make sure my neck is against it
just so i can hear my pulse pound
(p      o u     n        d)
in my ear
and know i am alive.

at night
in my bed
i think of everyone i spoke to that day.
i remember what we said
what they wore
what their facial expressions were.
and i wonder if they think about me the same way
or if i think too much of people.

(Jessica, age 16)

a
a

On The Inside

It’s suffocating
I can’t breath
I can’t move
I can’t see
I can’t feel
at all…
Nothing!

I am numb and pain
at the same time
and I’m angry
on the inside

I am mute and I speak
at the same time
and I’m screaming
on the inside

I am blind and I see
at the same time
and I’m crying
on the inside

I’m angry!
I’m screaming!
I’m running!
I’m crying!

I’m So Sorry!

On The Inside…

(Yalexie, age 17)

a
a

Soccer

Soccer is freedom,
Nothing else.
With each dribble I am like a boss-
I am in control
With every play I am like a cat-
I am confident
In games I am like a bird-
I have been set free
Without this game, I’m choking-
I’m a fish on land

This game gives me everything.
I could never have enough
I’m a greedy king
I need more.
Enough is never enough

How could I live without my passion?
I cannot.
This game is the air I breathe
Necessary to my survival

Soccer is my friend
Always there for me
I feel o so fortunate

Many are not as lucky as I
But like a friend, there are ups and downs
I get frustrated
I want to play more, better
But never ever to quit.

Practice makes perfect
As the saying goes
I sometimes feel obsessed-
I am addicted
My heart is pounding
Too much of anything isn’t good
Except for soccer
I can’t get enough
I love every bit of it

Just it and I together,
Forever.
We’re the perfect team
Sailing through the ups and downs
Working through the thick and thin.

(Ally, age 16)

a
a

untitled

Grace followed in her footsteps
And clung to her aura
It’s gentle hands tried to keep her steady,
As she walked through the path of life
Which was lined by an array of flowers
Their scents enticing, tempting
Leading her through the crossroads,
Invisibly coated with the paints of pure and evil
But the intoxicating aroma of sin
Enticed her with fragrances of black rose
She hadn’t noticed the thorns
On the stems of what was luring her
To the murderous  hands of death
Her beauty couldn’t save her
Instead, it attracted the demons
Who prised away grace’s fingertips,
Throwing it and her innocence into the flames
And placing her into deaths palm

(Eve, age 14)

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

