Staff Review: Thinking in Numbers

9780316187367Thinking in Numbers

Daniel Tammet

Back Bay Books

$16

Available now

 

Daniel Tammet views life in a fascinating way. After watching the documentary The Boy with the Incredible Brain, I felt compelled to buy Born on a Blue Day. I read and loved it. Then years went by, and he and his talent fell off my radar. When I came across Thinking in Numbers at Eight Cousins, I began to remember how much I enjoyed Born on a Blue Day. This book rekindled my interest in Daniel Tammet, and changed my perspective in a number of ways (pun intended).

This books touches on many topics that the author links vividly and directly to numbers. It has been years since my Shakespeare class in high school, and although I remember basic information about some of his plays, I never really thought about the text beyond what was relevant to class discussions, papers and tests. Reading the chapter “Shakespeare’s Zero” made me think very carefully about the number zero, and about Shakespeare’s many works. If I get the chance to reread Macbeth, King Lear, or any other of Shakespeare’s works, I know it will be from a different, more profound point of view.

Every chapter in Tammet’s book is rich in history, language and comparisons. He gives the reader glimpses into his world and how everything relates to numbers. Even if you are not a fan of math and are not a linguist, this book will inspire you to reflect on your life and how you live it. Thinking in Numbers is a wonderful, thought-provoking journey through the mind of an autistic savant that will take mental energy to read, but will leave you with a feeling of satisfaction and curiosity at the same time. I highly recommend it.

~ Rebecca

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Customer Review: The Truth About Twinkie Pie

9780316236621The Truth About Twinkie Pie

Kat Yeh

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

$17.00

Available January 2015

I really enjoyed this book. It was very different and it did not go the way I expected! There were many big clues leading up to what you thought would be a “happy ending” and instead something surprising happens. As a home cook, one aspect of the book I really enjoyed were the recipes with crazy names such as “No Peek Chicken” and “EZ Cheeze Crunch” and “Easier Than Pie Pudding” and of course, “Twinkie Pie.” The recipes originate from Gigi’s, the main character’s, mom, whose whereabout are unknown. This leaves Didi, Gigi’s older sister, in charge. The mystery of their mom is a pivotal plot line. The book is recommended for 8-12 year olds and I agree with that.

~ Celeste, Age 12

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Customer Review: Stray

9780062274557Stray

Elissa Sussman

Greenwillow Books

$17.99

Available now

“I am grateful for the Path, which keeps me pure, ever after,” is the mantra that Aislynn focuses on everyday at Nerine Academy where she trains to be the perfect princess and wife. But Aislynn can’t control her magic and dreams of straying the path and becoming evil. She is then sent to become a fairy godmother, while taking care of the future queen. Aislynn hears secrets of rebellion and learns of a sinister plot that puts her in danger. This book is filled with twists and turns, decisions made and their consequences, and Aislynn’s struggle with following the Path.

~ Emily, age 14

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Customer Review: The Dolls

9780062281487The Dolls

Kiki Sullivan

Balzer & Bray

$9.99

Available now

The Dolls by Kiki Sullivan is a perfect match for fans of Mean Girls and Sabrina, the Teenage Witch. If you’re looking for a book with magic, drama, mystery, romance, and with a setting in New Orleans this is the book for you. Its about Eveny who moves back to the mysterious town of Carrefour years later after her mother supposedly killed herself. When she starts to attend her new school she meets the Dolls — two girls named Peregine Marceau and Chloe St. Pierre — who are the queens of the school and also the queens of magic in Carrefour. After several mysterious events Eveny discovers that her life and everything that she believes is a lie, so she turns to the Dolls for help. It’s up to Chloe, Peregine and Eveny to save Carrefour, set things right and to solve the murderers.

~ Emily, age 14

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Balance Keepers The Fires of Calderon

9780062275189Balance Keepers #1 Fires of Calderon

Lindsay Cummings

Katherine Tegen Books

$16.99

Available now

I love this book and hope that the author makes another one like it because it was great. My favorite part was when Aldert dove into the water, and his stone was not the same as everyone else’s stone. They were trying to find out why his stone was different than everyone else’s stone. I hope there are many more books like this to come!

~ Mitchel, age 10

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: The $25,000 Flight

9780385382847The $25,000 Flight

Lori Haskins Houran

Random House Books for Young Readers

$4.99

Available now

The $25,000 Flight by Lori Haskins Houran is an amazing book. It is about Charles Lindbergh when he made a plane, but it blow up because it couldn’t fly up into the air. He had a parachute to save him from a plane crash. First, he made a plane and wanted to go to Paris. So, he did! When he was flying it was very dangerous for him because of the clouds and a storm. But Charles Lindbergh didn’t give up; he was a risk taker. When Charles Lindbergh went to Paris and landed, everyone was so happy for him for making the journey across the Atlantic on a homemade plane. I will give this book 5 stars because it’s really good. It is so fantastic.

Rachelle, age 10

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: A Whole New Ball Game

9781481406413A Whole New Ball Game

Belle Payton

Simon Spotlight

$5.99

Available now

A Whole New Ball Game is the first book in the new series It Takes Two by Belle Payton. Twins Alex and Ava Sackett have just moved to sweltering hot Texas. The twins have been through thick and thin but when they start going down different roads they realize that they might split up in the new town. Will they start of in the town as a team or individuals? Find out in the new book by Belle Payton. I like that they tell the story from both Ava and Alex’s point of view.

Emma, age 11

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: The Lost Children of the Far Islands

9780375870910The Lost Children of the Far Islands

Emily Raabe

Knopf Books for Young Readers

$16.99

Available now

I really enjoyed The Lost Children of the Far Islands by Emily Raabe because it had a lot of adventure. The setting and the plot are very interesting. Part of the book is on a island in Maine. It is a very mysterious place. Anyone who goes to the island doesn’t come back. This story is about twins Gus and Leo and their little sister, Ila, who are living a peaceful life in Maine until their mother mysteriously gets very ill. As her strength fades the children realize that she is protecting them from a terrible evil. Soon they are sent out to an island with a grandmother they never knew about. They find out that they are folk — creatures that can turn from human from to animal form and back. They go on an adventure to try to stop an ancient and powerful monster, the King of Black Lakes who is trying to take over the world. The Lost Children of the Far Islands is a story filled with magic, excitement and adventure. It is a very good book and I really recommend it. I hope you like the book!

~ Sophia, age 10

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Paper Things

9780763663230Paper Things

Jennifer Richard Jacobson

Candlewick

$16.99

Available February 2015

Paper Things, by Jennifer Richard Jacobson, is a really enjoyable book because the characters seem real. The plot and setting is well planned. Ari and her older brother, Gage, leave their guardian’s home. They have nowhere to stay, and they keep traveling to friend’s houses to stay overnight. Meanwhile, Ari’s grades are going down and it gets harder and harder to keep her friends. Ari has two choices, either she can stay with Gage, or she can go back to Janna, their old guardian. Which one should she choose? Paper Things, is an intriguing book, that I would recommend.

~ Grace, age 10

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morse Pond Review: Disappearance at Hangman’s Bluff

9780062104496Disappearance At Hangman’s Bluff

J. E. Thompson

Walden Pond Press

$16.99

Available now

Abbey Force and Bee Force are best friends, yet they’re totally different. While Bee is a focused school girl and is never in trouble, Abbey loves adventure and is always getting herself and Bee into trouble. Usually Bee has to get them out of it. When the girls are watching the mayor’s dog Yemasee, bad men hit the dog with a car and take off with her. Abbey and Bee are furious and going to get Yemasee back at any cost. In the meantime, a man named Mr. LaBell, who was already sued by Abbey’s dad, is up to no good. He’s digging a giant hole where a slave graveyard used to be. Abbey and Bee will go through a lot to save Yemasee and the graveyard. They risk a lot and gain a lot of courage. I highly recommend this book.

by Samantha, age 11

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,105 other followers